Talented Eagles Win Performing Arts and Choir Awards | Local News

CONWAY – Holly Fougere, a performing arts teacher at Kennett High School, recognized this year’s students who received performing arts awards in choir and dance earlier this week.

Unlike last year when the ceremony was to be held remotely, Fougère and his talented Eagles were able to meet in person this year.

This year’s recipients are:

Director’s Award for Choir: Christina Solomon. Fougère said that it is given to the student who demonstrates exceptional musicality and ability; exceptional dedication to the choir and choir events; leadership qualities towards the choir as section leader and / or student leader; and maintains a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

School’s National Choral Prize: Cayleigh Mohla and Zehariah Osier. “This is recognition from a student who truly dedicated himself to experiencing as much choral music and as many choirs as they have had the opportunity to try,” said Fougère.

Music Prize: Sierra McManus. Fougere explained that the award is given to “the student whose dedication to the musicality of the choir goes far beyond the call of duty. They are often a section leader or a strong member of their section. “

Micro d’Or Prize: Félicité Drouin. “This award is given to a senior choir member who has demonstrated commitment, dedication and significant improvement in his vocal technique over his four years,” said Fougère.

Coach’s Award: Skyler Sayers. “This award is given to a senior member of the dance who has been on the team for four years and who has demonstrated the most leadership, sportsmanship, teamwork and skill throughout. of his time with the team, ”said Fougere. “This member participates in the dance inside and outside the school, is a mentor to other members of the dance team, maintains high academic marks and has helped bring the team to a higher level thanks to his technique and positive attitude. “

Dance Team Spirit Award: Charly Williams. “The prize is awarded to a member of the dance team who comes to train with a positive attitude and encourages his teammates throughout the season,” said Fougère.

Betty Loynd Dance Scholarship: Grace Goodman and Katherine Dewhurst. The scholarship is in memory of Betty Loynd (former principal and current mother of Jack Loynd) who was a longtime talented dancer and instructor. The prize is accompanied by a scholarship of $ 250

“This award is given to a dancer who has maintained a GPA of 3.0 or higher, has done community service and has been a leader of the dance team,” said Fougere. “The recipient of this award really loves dancing and is someone who plans to continue dancing beyond high school to some extent.”

Rising Star Dance Prize: Brigitte Goldthorpe. “This award is given to a member of the underclassman dance team who has demonstrated dedication and improved dance technique throughout the season,” said Fougere.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *